Author Topic: Gun shy dog  (Read 6302 times)

roydowd

Gun shy dog
« on: December 11, 2007, 09:11:54 AM »
Ok Guys, I need help.

I have a two year old Chessie who is gun shy. I am not a professional trainer by any means, and I wish I could be writing here to brag about my dog and how fantastic he is. The truth is he is a fantastic retriever, until the gun goes off. When I got him as a pup I am sure it was the 4th of July fireworks that ruined him, he was only about 6-months old at the time, and his obvious fear was the start of my headaches.

The crazy thing is that I can use a dummy launcher with heavy loads right next to his head, and he doesn't even notice it. I mean 30-retrieves in a row, and he performs beautifully, sits steady like a rock until I tell him to go. Can do multiple retrieves, follows hand signals moderately well. But overall he gets the job done and I enjoy watching him because he is crazy to retrieve - barks his head off if I pause for more than a few seconds to tell me "come on man, what are you waiting for!?"

His temperament is gentle and a bit soft, not like the typical Chessie I read about. Very gentle and quite, but with an intelligence that he just radiates out to you with his eye contact. He is also a freak of nature in that he is over 100-pounds of solid bone and muscle - a plus in my book as he can barrel through the heaviest marsh grass and rough water. I keep thinking if I bring him out enough eventually he will shake the fear off and be overcome by his desire to retrieve, and I am getting tired of soaking myself to the groin in salt water and mud doing my own retrieves, while he tries to crawl into my lap (never mind that I am standing) to get some comfort from his fear of the muzzle blast.